chocolate peanut butter pie

March 20, 2011 at 6:44 pm 1 comment

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie 7

Ok, I’m back! So, no excuses for my months-long absence. Know that it wasn’t you, it was me. I just wasn’t doing much cooking. And I certainly wasn’t taking pictures of the boring food I was eating (think pasta…lots of pasta). But I’m starting to cook again, and I really missed writing to all of you and sharing recipes. Let’s start with something awesome, ok?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie 3

I really want to talk to you about peanut butter. And chocolate. And the magical things that happen when you stack them up in a pie crust and eat them.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie 4

This is one of my favorite desserts that my mom has been making for years. It’s killer. Cut thin slices. And don’t come back here saying, “Erin, it’s so rich it nearly killed me, why didn’t you warn me??” because, face it, I did.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie 5

Or, you could cut a huge slice, pour a huge glass of milk, find somebody to share it with and hope for the best. Recommended.

P.S. I missed you.

chocolate peanut butter pie

From the vault of mom

  • 1 store-bought refrigerated pie crust (or homemade)

Layer 1

  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar

Layer 2

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 1  12oz carton whipped topping (like Cool Whip), thawed*
  • 1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 cup peanut butter (creamy is my preference, but if you like peanuts go for crunchy – yes, I like peanut butter but not peanuts)

Layer 3

  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 teaspoons milk
  • 1  1/2 teaspoons corn syrup

Crust:

Preheat the oven to 450F. Press your packaged or homemade pie dough into a 9″ pie pan, and fold or trim any overlap. Poke holes in the crust with a fork to reduce air bubbles during baking. Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool completely.

Layer 1:

In a small saucepan, over low heat, melt 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 1 tablespoon butter, and 2 teaspoons of water, stirring constantly until smooth. Stir in the powdered sugar until smooth. Add additional water, if necessary. The chocolate should be smooth and spreadable, but not runny. Spread the chocolate over the bottom and sides of the cooled pie crust. Refrigerate until chocolate is solid, about 30 minutes to 1 hour. You can prep the second layer while it cools.

Layer 2:

In a medium saucepan, combine 1 cup butter and brown sugar. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. Remove from heat and allow to cool, transferring to the refrigerator for 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine the peanut butter and whipped topping. Add the brown sugar mixture and beat at low speed until smooth and creamy. Pour over chocolate layer, smoothing it out, and refrigerate.

Layer 3:

In a small saucepan, over low heat, melt 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 1 tablespoon butter, 2 teaspoons milk, and corn syrup, stirring constantly until smooth. Add additional milk, if necessary, for desired spreading consistency. Spoon and gently spread topping evenly over the peanut butter filling. Refrigerate at least 2 hours until the topping sets. Store any leftovers in the refrigerator.

*If Cool Whip makes your skin crawl a bit, like it does mine, just make note of that fact and use it anyway. Trust me. I tried making it by whipping up some cream myself, this time, and the peanut butter filling turned into a runny mess. I had to go out and buy the Cool Whip anyway. So save yourself the trouble, and use the artificial fluff. It will be delicious, I promise. My book club loved it.

Entry filed under: Guinea-pigged. Tags: , , , .

s’mores cheesecake bars faux-reos

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. anno  |  March 20, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    this recipe came from my pal kim.. and when I got it, it was called “peanut butter luster pie”. just… givin’ credit where it’s due. did you save me a slice?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

