piña colada custard

September 26, 2010 at 9:17 am 1 comment

Pina Colada Custard 2

Do you ever get weird cravings? I’m not talking cravings like the one that you always get for Chick-fil-a on a Sunday. That’s a craving born of clever corporate strategy.

I’m talking cravings for something very specific, like for that weird Indian carrot pudding thing you tried once (which I’m going to have to learn how to make, since I’ve now referenced it in two posts). Or for something you’ve never even eaten before. Like piña colada custard.

I’ll be honest with you. This was one experiment that did not go exactly as planned. In fact, it was only salvaged because when I called mom and said “my custard looks like grits,” she said, “why don’t you stick it in the blender and see what happens?”

I did her one better. I shoved my immersion blender into that mess. And lo-and-behold, it became custard. Amazing. So let that be one more reason why you should own an immersion blender: If you screw up custard to the point that you think it’s garbage-disposal-bound, you can grind it back into life with one of those bad boys (I have the yellow one…shocked?).

You can tell I’m still getting used to having a blog, because I didn’t think to take pictures of the grit-custard until after I’d already fixed it. Shame.

This custard, despite my traumatic curdling disaster, is really quite delicious, with exactly the tropical-yet-comfort-food vibe that I was looking for. Lesson learned – cook that puppy over low heat, and stir constantly. And if you get grits, the blender is your best friend. 😉

Piña colada custard

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s creamy stirred custard recipe, to include, well…coconut and pineapple.

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • dash of salt
  • 1  1/2 cups milk (I used skim and it still came out super creamy)
  • 1 cup coconut milk (I used light – see? I’m looking out for you)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup crushed pineapple

In a heavy 2 quart saucepan, beat eggs slightly with a fork. Stir in the sugar and salt. Gradually stir in the milk and the coconut milk. Cook over low heat 15-20 minutes, stirring constantly while it thickens. It will be ready when it coats a metal spoon (or when it reaches the thickness you prefer). Remove saucepan from the heat and stir in the vanilla.

Put the saucepan in a bowl or sink of cold water for about 30 minutes or until the custard is cool, stirring occasionally. Fold in the crushed pineapple. Pour into a bowl and cover with plastic wrap, pressing the plastic onto the surface of the custard to prevent a skin from forming. Refrigerate at least 1 hour before serving.

*Note for those who are diet conscious like I pretend to be – Betty Crocker says that her version has 135 calories and 5g of fat per serving. Made with skim milk and light coconut milk, I’d venture it’s even lighter than that (you add a little fat back with the coconut milk, but it’s good fat). So this is a dessert you don’t have to stress about.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , .

chilled cantaloupe and peach soup black bean patties

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. annette  |  September 26, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    yay! I’m glad to finally hear what happened with the grits custard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

