chilled cantaloupe and peach soup

September 3, 2010 at 3:57 pm Leave a comment

Peach Canteloupe Soup 5

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I found a new spot to photograph food. And I bought a tripod. These can only mean improvements in the quality of my pictures, I’m certain. Oh, I also put some thought into my plating for once. Do blogs give out bonus points? Or cookies?

I bought a cantaloupe at the farmer’s market, and couldn’t figure out how I was supposed to consume an entire cantaloupe by myself. I like cantaloupe, but I think that eating a whole one by myself would probably turn me orange. So I cut half of it into chunks and froze it for later. And the rest of it became a soup. It’s sort of like a smoothie, only you eat it with a spoon out of a bowl like a civilized person, so you can serve it at a fancy dinner party. Feel free to polish your silver for the occasion. Go ahead, you deserve to eat with silver.

Peach Canteloupe Soup 2

I have an end table made out of mirrors. See?

This is a breeze to make. You just throw everything into a blender and…well…blend it.

Chilled cantaloupe and peach soup

Serves 4

  • 1/2 cantaloupe, peeled, seeded and cubed
  • 2 peaches, peeled, seeded and quartered
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt (I used nonfat, but that’s up to you)
  • 1/2 cup peach juice or peach nectar
  • fresh mint to garnish (optional of course – I think a little rosemary would be nice too)

Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth. Chill in the refrigerator at least one hour before serving.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , , , .

peach and tomato salsa piña colada custard

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

