baked french fries

May 17, 2010 at 5:52 pm 5 comments

I’m a french fry eating fiend. I love fries so much that I can’t even bring myself to throw away leftover fries, even though they get icky in the fridge and are no longer delicious. More on that later.

For now, I will share with you a secret that was passed on to me from Foodblogland:  you can make delicious french fries without frying them. Gosh I’m excited. That means I can eat them more often.

Now the first time I made these, as seen here, they got crispy outsides and soft insides, were utterly perfect and tasted just like Five Guys fries. No lie. The second time I made them, while still tasty, they did not achieve the same degree of outside crunchiness. My first theory was that I was not used to the oven I used to make the second batch (read: it didn’t burn everything that went in it). But my newest theory is that I used olive oil instead of the called-for vegetable, canola, or peanut oil. It’s possible that the type of oil would effect crispiness levels, right? Maybe?

The world may never know.

Baked oven fries

Found via Annie’s Eats, originally adapted from The New Best Recipe by the editors of Cook’s Illustrated.

  • 3 russet potatoes, peeled and cut lengthwise into roughly even wedges
  • 5 tablespoons vegetable, canola, or peanut oil, divided
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher or sea salt, plus more to taste
  • 3/4 teaspoon black pepper, plus more to taste

Place potato wedges in a large mixing bowl and cover with hot water. Soak for 10-30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 475F. Spread 4 tablespoons of the oil on a heavy, rimmed baking sheet (I used a brush, but tilting the pan back and forth would work too). Sprinkle the pan evenly with salt and pepper.

Drain the potatoes and dry them with paper towels or clean kitchen towels. Dry the bowl, then return potatoes to it and add remaining tablespoon oil. Toss to coat. Arrange the potatoes on the prepared baking sheet in a single layer. Cover tightly with foil and bake 5 minutes. Remove the foil and  continue to bake until the bottoms of the potatoes are a spotty golden brown, about 15-20 minutes. Remove from the oven, and flip the potato wedges (using a spatula and/or tongs), then return to the oven for an additional 5-15 minutes, until they’ve achieved the desired level of crispness.

Transfer potatoes to paper-towel lined plate to drain excess oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , , .

cap’n crunch chicken fingers lemon lime pound cake

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Sue  |  May 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Did you figure out our oven? I’m still having trouble with it. Should probably use it more.

    Reply
    • 2. erin  |  May 18, 2010 at 6:10 pm

      I don’t know about “figure out” but we did manage to make it cook something! Once. I found the microwave to be equally tricky to navigate. Imagine how complicated they’ll be by the time I have a need for snazzy new appliances…oy.

      Reply
      • 3. Mary Sue  |  May 21, 2010 at 1:11 pm

        Yes, the microwave is a bit newfangled too. Plus, we neglected to demonstrate to Annette how you use the convectioin oven feature of the microwave. It has a metal tray that you replace the glass tray with. But we didn’t tell her that or show her where the metal tray lives. I kind of liked my old oven that had knobs you could turn. Maybe by the time you get state of the art appliances, all you’ll to do is stand there and say “cook this”.

  • 4. annette  |  May 28, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    so tasty. definitely better with big salt. 🙂 you reckon this method would work for crispy sweet potato “fries” too? do you reckon you need to soak sweet potatoes first?

    Reply
    • 5. erin  |  May 30, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      I’m not sure, but it’s certainly worth a try! The one time I tried oven sweet potato fries, they didn’t really crisp up at all, but I wasn’t using this method. Something to add to the list!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

