cap’n crunch chicken fingers

May 1, 2010 at 6:48 pm 3 comments

Pardon my absence, April is by far my craziest month of the year. Although, May isn’t looking any less crazy, at this point. Can you believe I made these three weeks ago and hadn’t found the time to share them yet? Cut the complaining, Erin – on to the chicken!

Cap’n Crunch chicken fingers are a delicacy that my family originally discovered at the Planet Hollywood in Disney World. Mom managed to find the recipe using her internet super powers, and made them for us on a few occasions. I’ve found myself craving them from time to time, but I always shuddered at the idea of deep frying them. I’ve never deep fried anything. It feels like a colossal waste of oil, not to mention how much fat and extra calories I’d be consuming – potentially, needlessly – because there has to be another way, right?

I’d noticed a number of recipes recently for oven-baked “fried” chicken, and since it seems to work just fine for whole pieces of chicken, I thought, ‘why not try it with chicken tenders?’ And it worked! I got the interesting sweetness and crunch of the original, and didn’t have to go out and buy new clothes (because fried chicken would inevitably have pushed me over the edge into higher-sized jeans – the Cap’n understands).

Baked Cap’n Crunch chicken fingers

Adapted from Planet Hollywood & Ellie Krieger.

  • 3 cups Cap’n Crunch cereal, crushed
  • 1/2 cup corn meal (or crushed corn flakes)
  • 2 lbs chicken tenders (or chicken breasts cut into tenders)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Combine the crushed cereals (or cereal and corn meal) in one bowl. Combine the egg and milk in another bowl. Combine the flour, onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper in another bowl. Dip the chicken tenders into the dry mix, then into the egg mix, and then coat with the cereal crumbs. Arrange tenders on a baking sheet (line with foil if you want easier cleanup). Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until juices run clear when chicken is pierced with a knife. Serve with dipping sauce of your choice*.

*Although, if your choice isn’t honey mustard, you must come from some Planet other than Hollywood.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , .

tropical carrot cake baked french fries

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annette  |  May 2, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I think you really oughta give us the planet hollywood honey mustard recipe too. 🙂 because I really don’t generally like honey mustard.. but that recipe.. with those chicken fingers.. I wish I’d been there to eat them. 🙂 I am also waiting for the recipe for the fries to show up..

    Reply
    • 2. erin  |  May 3, 2010 at 7:20 am

      I’d be glad to, but everywhere I look, there’s a completely different recipe for it. Surely it has honey in it, and the recipe that came with the chicken recipe I used doesn’t have any honey. Here’s one I found, does this sound close? I feel like I remember it being more complicated than this:

      Creole Mustard Sauce:
      2 tablespoons Grey Poupon Dijon mustard
      3 tablespoons mayonnaise
      1 teaspoon yellow mustard
      1 teaspoon honey
      Mix together and chill in refrigerator.

      Reply
  • 3. annette  |  May 3, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    yeah.. I sorta think it might have a little horseradish in too..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

