caramel apple pie

April 13, 2010 at 9:52 pm 4 comments

I wasn’t expecting to top the red velvet cupcakes this early into the blog! I thought it might take me years to earn higher praise than “the best cupcake I’ve ever had”. I thought I’d have to learn to make puff pastry or snooty French macarons or something truly daunting. As it turns out, all it took was an apple pie.

I can’t make this stuff up. One colleague could be heard walking down the hall, plate of pie in hand, muttering “mm, mm, mmmm…I may have to have two..” Later, she walked back by, empty plate in hand, and told me I got an A+ for this one. Not bad! It was even declared “the bomb” by two different people (nonprofits don’t have room in the budget for “lingo” upgrades, but we’d have been “totally rad” about eight years ago).

So what is it about this pie that makes it so praise-worthy? Could be the homemade pie crust. Or the caramelized apples. Or the toffee praline topping. Or the salty crunch of toasted pistachios. But I have a hunch – that’s all it is really, a hunch – that it’s the combination of all of these things.

The shocking thing is, it’s so easy to make! Especially if you have a leftover pie crust chillin’ in the freezer from a previously-blogged chocolate custard pie (of course, you can use a store-bought pie crust or make your own fresh – the options are limitless, friends). You just throw all your ingredients in a pan, cook them up until they form a gooey, caramel-y mess of apples, pour them into your crust, top with awesome, and bake! Wanna see something cute? This is what all my first slices of pie come out looking like:

I’d snuggle it, if it wouldn’t stick to my face. Keep in mind that, if you make this, you may be floored. I know I was. And so were my “wicked awesome” colleagues.

Caramel Apple Pie

Adapted from Marles Riessland.

  • 1 pie crust (either store-bought or homemade)
  • 6 cups apples (Jonathan or Granny Smith are recommended in the original recipe, but I used Pink Lady because that’s what I had, and they worked great)
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons cream (I used light, original used heavy)
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • streusel topping, recipe follows
  • 1/4 cup whole, shelled pistachios

Streusel topping:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/4 cup crushed toffee bits

Preheat oven to 450F.

Press pie crust into pie pan to shape, and move to the refrigerator while you prepare the other ingredients.

Peel and slice the apples, then sprinkle with lemon juice. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl, then add the apples. Toss to mix. Add the vanilla and cream. Melt the butter in a heavy skillet. Add the apple mixture and cook approximately 8 minutes, to soften the apples. Turn mixture into the pie shell.

For the streusel topping, combine the flour and sugar. Mix in the butter with a fork until coarse crumbs form. Stir in the crushed toffee bars, and sprinkle evenly over pie.

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven, sprinkle with pistachios, then return to the oven for an additional 5-10 minutes, or until crust and pistachios are golden brown.

Entry filed under: Guinea-pigged. Tags: , , , .

cinnamon rolls with leftover frosting summer pea and roasted red pepper pasta salad

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annette  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    I might even enjoy a slice of that.. not much a fan of apple pie but add cream cheese or.. caramel…. I’m intrigued. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Alfred  |  April 14, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I can attest to the tastiness 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  November 26, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Making this for Thanksgiving. Would I be able to make ahead of time? Do you have the link to the original recipe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

