looks-like-refried black beans

April 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm Leave a comment

I know, I know, there’s really nothing less attractive than a picture of cooked-to-death beans. But since I left you last night with that tantalizing image of my pork taco, I figured I owed you the inside scoop on the “refried” beans that are buried under that cheese. The inside scoop being that they’re not actually refried beans at all. They only have 1 tablespoon of oil in them, the rest is wholesome goodness.

How’d I do it, you ask?

If you’ve ever made a risotto, you know that something magical happens when you combine chicken stock and arborio rice (or if you’re me, orzo pasta). The starches from the rice/pasta leech out into the stock and you wind up with an amazingly creamy dish, sans cream of any sort.

Well, that’s exactly what happened with my beans. I added 1/4 cup of chicken broth to 2 cans of black beans, and that same risotto magic happened. Surprised the pants off me, I can tell you that.

Looks-like-refried black beans

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (Real Simple taught me I could use my microplane grater to do this, and I may never buy jarred minced garlic again!)
  • 2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth (if not using low-sodium chicken broth, you may want to skip adding salt)
  • 1/2 can diced tomatoes
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Heat the oil in a medium sauce pan, over medium heat. Add garlic and sauté for one minute. Add beans and cumin, and stir to combine. Add chicken broth, stirring occasionally until reduced, 5-10 minutes. Add tomatoes, salt and pepper and cook until the liquid from the tomatoes evaporates out and/or is absorbed into the beans. Enjoy with rice, or on exceptionally delicious* pork tacos.

*Author of this recipe may be a little biased about her pork tacos.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , , .

quasi-mole pulled pork happy easter from btk

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

