quasi-mole pulled pork

April 2, 2010 at 10:31 pm 2 comments

If you could smell my apartment right now, you would be drooling. Which is a welcome change from the disgusting smell caused by my attempt at baking kale a few days ago. Yuck. Apparently, even making salty, crunchy chips out of greens can’t make them edible to me.

Hey, Erin. Back to the good food.

I stalked grocery store ads waiting for somebody to have pork shoulder on sale for a price I could actually justify, and finally it happened. Let me tell you, I pounced. And! Since I scored eight pounds of meat for just about $8, I still have a whole half of that bad boy chilling in my freezer for another day’s culinary manhandling.

This recipe I’m sharing with you is my absolute favorite way to eat pork. It’s cooked all day in the slow cooker with a fragrant (and I’m serious about this, it’s fragrant) blend of chiles, spices and other goodies. Then you shred it up like any good southerner would do when faced with a hunk of pig, and serve it up in tortillas like a gourmet taco. Are you checking the grocery ads yet? Go find some pork!

It’s simple too, though it does require a little more prep than some slow cooker recipes do. Basically you throw all the sauce ingredients in the blender, and grind them up until they’re smooth. Then you fry them in a little olive oil until it gets thick, pour in some chicken stock and reduce it a bit. Season your meat, stick it all in the slow cooker, and abandon it. Just walk away. Don’t touch it for at least five hours. Have I mentioned that my slow cooker is my hands-down favorite appliance?

Look what I rubbed on my pork:

Chocolate. That’s right, I said it. I rubbed chocolate on my pork. And I recommend that you do it too.

This is awesome served with black beans and rice, or as a taco filling, and I expect it would make a killer pulled pork sandwich too. You might want to have some pineapple on hand, in case you end up craving it. Just sayin’.

Quasi-mole pulled pork

Adapted from Food Network Magazine.

  • 1 whole pasilla chile (originally called for 3, but mine was huge, so if you find tiny ones, use your discretion)
  • 4 cloves garlic, unpeeled
  • 1 tablespoon ancho chile powder
  • 2-3 chipotles in adobo sauce
  • 1  medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 4 pounds pork shoulder
  • salt and pepper
  • unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • corn tortillas, warmed, for serving (optional)
  • assorted taco toppings, for garnish (optional)

Place the pasilla chile and garlic in a microwave-safe bowl. Pierce the chile a few times with a knife, so the air can escape. Microwave on high 2-3 minutes, until soft and pliable. Stem and seed the chile, and peel the garlic. Put them in a blender.

Add the ancho chile powder, chipotles, onion, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, honey, vinegar, salt and oregano. Puree until smooth. Heat the remaining tablespoon of olive oil in a large pan over high heat. Add the pureed sauce and fry, stirring continuously until thick and fragrant, about 5-7 minutes. Add the chicken broth and stir until combined, then let it reduce until slightly thickened.

Season the pork all over with salt, pepper, and cocoa powder. Transfer to the slow cooker. Add the bay leaves and cinnamon stick, then pour in the sauce. Cover and cook on high about 5 hours, or until the meat is tender and cooked through.

Discard the bay leaves and cinnamon stick, and shred the pork with two forks. Serve as tacos, or eat it as-is.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , , .

the buffer looks-like-refried black beans

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  March 27, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I made this yesterday. I used beef broth because I didn’t have chicken broth on hand, but stuck to the recipe otherwise. SO GOOD. I will definitely be making this again!

    Reply
    • 2. erin  |  March 27, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      I’m glad you liked it! This is definitely one of my favorites 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

