buttermilk cheddar biscuits

March 24, 2010 at 6:22 pm 2 comments

I want to share a secret with you, because I feel that you’re trustworthy. Someday, when I’m better at cooking, I want to open a restaurant. It’ll be modern twists on classic comfort food, using only fresh local ingredients, in a cozy cafe setting. Sounds awesome, right?

I also want to be an interior decorator. And a travel photographer. And a novelist. But hey, who’s counting?

Basically, I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up (I only consider 25 to be grown-up when it works to my advantage). But, as long as I can make these biscuits whenever I want to, I’ll be living a pretty good life. They’re so buttery and crisp. Fluffy, yet flaky. And, of course, just chock-full of cheese! For my restaurant, I’d slice them open and put slices of sharp white cheddar on them, warm them until melted, and close them back up to make little biscuit grilled cheese sandwiches. Then I’d serve them with tomato soup. Kind of like this.

Only, you know…way prettier.

I actually made these biscuits in an attempt to piece together a recipe for biscuit pot pie. The version at the Flying Biscuit Cafe is honestly the only thing I want when I go out to eat anymore. It’s so good, I wish I could sneak into the kitchen and eat the whole pot. Well…or at least pack it up and take it home with me. My version came out edible, but not exactly thrilling, so it will have to be rethought. The biscuits though. Oh my sweet goodness, the biscuits. They were more than worth the somewhat disappointing soupy part.

I actually overcooked this most recent batch a bit, so I’m sorry for the less-than-thrilling visuals. I guess you’ll just have to trust me on this one.

Buttermilk Cheddar Biscuits

Adapted from Ina Garten.

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, cold
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon water or milk (optional)

Preheat the oven to 425F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set it aside.

Measure out 2 cups of flour. Remove 1 spoonful of it, toss it with your grated cheese until coated, and set aside. Put the flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Add the butter and cut in with a pastry cutter, only until your butter is in pea-sized chunks*.

In a small bowl, combine the buttermilk and egg and beat lightly with a fork. Using a hand mixer (or whatever tool you’ve chosen, see note*), quickly add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture and mix on low only until moistened. Add the cheese and mix until roughly combined.

Flour your counter thoroughly, and dump dough onto the surface. Knead gently, 3-4 times, until your dough is gathered into one lump. Roll the dough out into a rectangle, approximately 10″ by 5″. With a sharp, floured knife, cut the dough into rectangles, then place onto your prepared baking sheet. Brush the tops of the biscuits with the optional egg wash. Bake 20-25 minutes until golden brown and cooked through.

*Alternatively, you can mix using the paddle attachment on a stand mixer or pulse with a food processor. You can also attempt to cut it in with two knives, like I did the first time. I just sort of crossed them in the bowl and cut across the butter over and over, until I got the pieces small enough. Not really recommended, but if you’re lacking the aforementioned equipment, like I was at the time, it’s better than no biscuits.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , .

cake mix hacks: chocolate orange pudding cake the buffer

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annette  |  March 25, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    I like the look and sound of those biscuits. I don’t like looking at them drowning in tomato soup though. have never (since elementary school anyway) cared for tomato soup.. which is kind of odd, considering I do like and occasionally even crave tomato juice.

    Reply
    • 2. erin  |  March 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm

      Mmmm..I’m tempted to make that tomato sauce again and call it a soup. Drown my biscuits in that instead. I feel like that might kill me though. In the physical sense.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

