traditional green food

March 19, 2010 at 5:32 pm 1 comment

I’m approximately half Irish (that would be the Erin half, for those of you keeping track), so you’d think I’d be big into celebrating St. Patrick’s Day. But really, aside from wearing green and building leprechaun traps, the only thing I can remember my family doing is dying random foods green. Wearing green is a given, but I was fresh out of leprechaun bait. Shame, that.

So in honor of the day, I made green velvet cupcakes. They’re made exactly the same way as my favorite red velvet cupcakes, only using green food coloring instead of the red. Fortunately, since I had to buy multipacks at Valentine’s Day (the supply of red food coloring at Harris Teeter was not equal to the demand), I had an inordinate amount of green, yellow and blue dye. I’m thinking blue for July 4th, but I’m not feeling quite as inspired by the yellow. I know what you’re thinking: “But Erin, yellow is your favorite color!” I know! I’m a little creeped out that you all knew that, but strangely flattered at the same time.

I’m leaning toward dying frosting yellow, spreading it on cupcakes, then using some sort of candy to make petals so I have cute little flower cakes. But I’m open to suggestions.

I wasn’t as happy with these as I had been with the red version, and I figured out the reason. The first time I used this recipe, I misread it. I read 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder, when it actually calls for 1 teaspoon. And then I doubled it, because I didn’t think the cupcake batter was happy with its chocolate content. Well, I read it right this time, and only doubled the teaspoon, so I was essentially using less than half the amount of cocoa powder that made these cupcakes so enjoyable for me. I’ve corrected my original post to reflect my recommended 2 tablespoons of cocoa. Trust me, more is better.

Entry filed under: Guinea-pigged. Tags: , .

chocolate custard pie cake mix hacks: chocolate orange pudding cake

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. April  |  March 19, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I love it! I always wondered why there was no other colored velvet cakes!

    Yellow… you could mix with the red to make orange for Halloween goodies. Or just save it for dyeing Easter eggs?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

