experimentation goes beyond food

March 16, 2010 at 10:04 pm 4 comments

I couldn’t resist showing off my new back splash! It’s made out of $2 vinyl placemats from Target, which makes it not only cheap, but easy to clean – a definite plus for a back splash, in my opinion. It’s like adding instant brightness to the darkest part of my kitchen. I’m going to pull the stove out a little tomorrow, so I can nail down the bottoms of the placemats. It’s not exactly flush with the wall, at the moment.

Yeah, those are cupcakes on my stove. More on them later.

I have so many other projects that I want to tackle. Up next will be repainting my bookshelf, which is probably about 20 years overdue.

I’d love to hear about your DIY projects – either completed, in the works, or intended!

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , .

bandwagon tomato sauce chocolate custard pie

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annette  |  March 18, 2010 at 12:36 am

    the backsplash looks very festive. 🙂 I’m still waiting to hear about the cupcakes though.

    Reply
  • 2. annette  |  March 18, 2010 at 12:39 am

    oh.. and I still think my “entertainment center” is the fanciest makeshift decorating thing I’ve ever done.. it’ll be even fancier when aidan makes it light up. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. aidan  |  March 23, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    i’ve given brief contemplation to the idea of mounting my recliner on some sort of rocking device, but i doubt it’ll ever happen.

    Reply
  • 4. erin  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:42 am

    @aidan, that sounds dangerous, in a thrilling sort of way..

    @mom, I agree, I’m pretty excited about seeing it with the lights 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

