microwave lemon curd

March 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm 2 comments

Sometimes I take shortcuts. Does that make me a cheater? Maybe. Does it get me where I’m going faster? Definitely. If I want pancakes, but I’m out of buttermilk and still in my pajamas, I’m gonna reach for that box of mix.

Before you panic! Because I know foodies shun Bisquick above all else. I use Trader Joe’s multigrain baking mix. Not much better in the eyes of purists, I’ll admit, but oh so tasty and vastly different from traditional pancakes. Therefore, I see it as a separate choice, rather than a substitution. Sometimes I just WANT those dense, slightly sweet, whole grain giants.

And since I’ve never been all that good at segues, I’m just going to say this. I made lemon curd in my microwave. Sounds crazy! But it was easy, it was fast, and it tastes like lemon curd. So I’m going to let you in on my secret, because I like you. Ready?

It’s not my secret. The recipe I used comes from 400 Sauces, by Atkinson, France and Mayhew. You cook your mixture in the microwave, stopping it to stir every couple of minutes, and it all gradually congeals (that’s the kind of word that really makes you want to dig right in, isn’t it?) into custardy goodness. Yum. Authentic? Nah. Delicious? Well…why don’t you give it a shot, and get back to me.

Microwave Lemon Curd

Minutely adapted from 400 Sauces.

Note: the recipe is based on an 800 watt microwave. For other wattages, adjustments follow – 900 watt: subtract 10 seconds per minute; 850 watt: subtract 5 seconds per minute; 750 watt: add 5 seconds per minute; 700 watt: add 10 seconds per minute.

  • 1/2 cup butter, cubed
  • finely grated rind and juice of 3 large lemons
  • 1 cup caster (superfine) sugar (I used plain old granulate sugar, and it came out ok)
  • 3 eggs plus 1 egg yolk

Put butter, lemon rind and juice in a large microwave-safe bowl. Cook on high for 3 minutes. Add the sugar and stir until it has almost dissolved. Return to the microwave and cook on full power for 1 minute. Stir it and cook 1 more minute.

Beat the eggs and the yolk together, then whisk into the lemon mixture, a little at a time. Cook on 40% power for 10-12 minutes, stopping to whisk every 2 minutes, until the curd thickens. When cool, ladle into a jar (I used the cleaned out jar from the last lemon curd I’d purchased, but a jam jar would work too) and store in the refrigerator. Use within 2 months.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , .

sweet potato coffee cake bandwagon tomato sauce

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Forrest  |  March 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I should get you the recipe for my uncle’s bat cakes. They are similar in shape to pancakes, but vastly different and health and nutrients as well as taste.

    Reply
  • 2. erin  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I’m intrigued, simply based on the name (and mention of nutrients)! Send that puppy my way. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

