masaman curry

March 4, 2010 at 7:41 pm Leave a comment

I’m a picky eater. I know that’s probably not the type of thing that you want to hear from a food blogger, but it’s true. I don’t eat sea critters. I don’t eat any vegetable that smells bad. And I try not to eat animals that make me want to go vegetarian, like poor poor baby sheep. Or marmot.

That being said, let me tell you about my love for all things masaman curry (which is, in fact, limited to masaman curry). Oh dear goodness, this is the best curry in the world. It’s a Thai curry made with coconut milk, and in my experience consists of meat, potatoes, onions, and cashews. Can you see why I might have chosen it as my first foray into Thai cuisine? There’s nothing scary in it!

My love for this curry runs so deep, and my frequency of going to Thai restaurants is so, well, infrequent, that I’ve probably only had two other things off a Thai menu. Closed-minded? No, it’s just. That. Good. It’s rich and creamy, with a ridiculous (in a good way) blend of spices and just the right amount of heat.

My masaman curry paste was a gift from my uncle (a fellow masaman lover who was more efficient in locating a source than I was), but I’ve tracked it down for you on Amazon, just in case there aren’t any Thai/Asian markets in your area. As with any curry, the amount of curry paste will directly correlate with how hot (spicy hot) your end result will be. The recipe on the can calls for three cans of coconut milk and the full can of curry, but if my results are any indicator, that would feed an army. An ARMY. I used 1/3 of that and have leftovers that will probably last at least five more meals.

Masaman Curry

I make these things up as I go along.

Serves 2-4

  • 1/3 can masaman curry paste*
  • 1 can coconut milk (works just as well with light coconut milk)
  • 1 cup chopped cooked meat or tofu (I used leftover rotisserie chicken)
  • 1/2 of a yellow onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 red-skinned potato, chopped
  • 1 small or medium sweet potato, chopped
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • cooked rice for serving (any rice will work fine, I used jasmine, because it was what I had on hand)

In a pan with straight sides and a lid, over medium heat, combine masaman curry paste and coconut milk. Whisk to combine and allow to come to a simmer. Add red-skinned potato, sweet potato and the onions. Cover and cook for ten minutes, then add chicken, recover and cook ten more minutes, or until your vegetables are tender and your chicken has warmed through (and taken on the flavors of the sauce). Stir in cashews and serve over rice.

*I tried to freeze my leftover curry paste in an ice cube tray, thinking I’d be clever, but apparently it doesn’t freeze solid. So unless you want to be stuck scooping curry paste back out of your ice cube tray, I suggest refrigerating it in a lidded container instead.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , , .

super quick french toast sweet potato coffee cake

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

