super quick french toast

March 2, 2010 at 6:45 pm 2 comments

I’m a breakfast kind of a girl. Seriously, I consider pancakes an acceptable dinner, and for something to qualify as “brunch” it generally needs to be served between 12:01 am and 11:59 pm (I begrudge brunch one minute, to allow the day to change). But sometimes, I’m just not in the mood to make my breakfast a big production. Sometimes, I want something better than cold cereal, and I want it NOW. And on those days, I make french toast.

Now, I have a couple of favorite french toast recipes, both of which involve specific types of bread, letting it all soak in the fridge overnight, and baking it in the oven for a good while. They are both beyond delicious. This is not one of those recipes. This is the sort of french toast that you make with whatever you have on-hand, in whatever quantity you wish, in approximately 10 minutes. Let me walk you through it.

I usually start with a wide, shallow bowl, for mixing up my egg bath and allowing the bread to enjoy a leisurely soak and kick up its feet after a long day’s wor…getting a little carried away with my metaphor here. You’re looking for the right ratio of bread surface area to space for soaking. As long as your bread fits in the bowl without smushing (technical term), you’re good to go.

Set your pan on medium low heat, and melt a little butter in it. Break an egg into your bowl, add some milk, a dash of cinnamon, and commence dipping. When your bread has soaked for about 30 seconds per side, stick it in the pan and cook until golden brown and no longer soggy. Repeat! And before you know it, you’ll have french toast.

I start with a single egg, because I’m cooking it for a single person. I generally do two batches of this, for a grand total of two eggs. If you know you’re feeding four or six or twenty, adjust your egg usage accordingly. I’m going to attempt to transcribe this into a recipe, are you ready for it?

Erin’s quickie french toast

Adapted from my brain.

Serves 1-2. For larger crowds, adjust accordingly.

  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup milk*
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4-8 slices of oldish bread (this number really depends on the size of your bread)

Melt some butter in a pan over medium low heat. In a wide, shallow bowl, whisk eggs, milk and cinnamon until combined. Dip bread slices, one at a time, in the egg bath, allowing each slice to sit and soak for a bit (around 30 seconds per side should be fine). Cook in pan, flipping once, until golden brown on each side. Suggest serving immediately with maple syrup, or serving the next day as toast with some sort of fabulous spread, like lemon curd or apple butter.

See? Even the recipe is quick!

*Around the winter holidays, I sub eggnog for about half of the milk. It is divine. It makes the bread creamier, sort of like bread pudding with crunchy outsides.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , .

chocolate peanut butter banana brownie cake masaman curry

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Forrest  |  March 9, 2010 at 7:59 am

    My friend Hunter lifted my French Toast experience by introducing me to the fact that Jimmy John’s/Beezer’s Day old bread for $.49 a baguette is essentially the perfect french toast bread.

    Reply
  • 2. erin  |  March 9, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    That sounds both delicious and economical. ++

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

