leftover french fry frittata

June 9, 2010 at 10:10 pm 4 comments

I’ve always had a bit of a love affair with french fries. My mom told me once, that when I was little, I only used them as a vessel with which to consume ketchup – dipping them in, licking them clean and dipping again. Kids are gross.

I don’t do that anymore, but I still love french fries to the point that, if health was not a factor, I would eat them every day. Every. Day.

The problem is, that usually when I get fries at a restaurant, I can’t finish them all.  I can’t let perfectly good fries go to waste, right? So I bring them home with me.

If you’ve ever done this, then you understand that leftover french fries just never reheat into anything remotely as palatable as the first run. Which is why I decided something must be done.

And thus, the leftover french fry frittata was born. This time, I actually used roasted potatoes instead, since that’s what I had on hand. I think they held up even better than french fries do in this recipe, but feel free to try it with any sort of leftover potato. Hashbrowns would probably be quite tasty as well.

Leftover french fry frittata

  • 1-2 cups leftover french fries or other leftover potatoes
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1Ts olive oil
  • 1-2 Italian sausage links, cooked and sliced (breakfast sausage would work too)
  • 1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

You can pretty much use any cooking vessel you choose. Traditionally, I believe, frittatas are baked in a cast iron frying pan. But I don’t have one of those, so I used a square glass baking dish. Spray with non-stick cooking spray. Preheat the oven to 425F.

Spread the french fries in the bottom of the baking dish. Heat the oil in a pan, over medium heat. Add tomatoes and garlice and stir occasionally, cooking until tender, about 4-5 minutes. Top the french fries with the cooked tomatoes, cooked sausage slices, and shredded cheddar cheese.

In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, flour, salt and pepper, until blended. Pour over the ingredients in the baking dish. Bake until frittata is golden brown and set in the center when the pan is gently shaken, about 20-30 minutes (depending on the size of the pan you use, and the resulting thickness of the frittata – thinner frittatas will use less baking time). It should puff up a good bit around the edges, and pull away slightly from the sides of the dish. Serves four. I suggest topping with herb cream cheese, below.

Optional: In a small bowl, whip 1/4 cup cream cheese together with 1/4-1/2 teaspoon Italian spice blend (you could be hardcore about it and use a hand mixer, but I just used a fork). Spoon a bit onto each portion of the frittata, and serve.

Entry filed under: Kept to myself. Tags: , , , , , , .

chunky pesto sauce zucchini pie

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Sue  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:00 am

    I had this once. I can vouch for it’s goodness.

    Reply
  • 2. annette  |  June 16, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    so good. I need some left over french fries now. :) I’m thinkin’ there’s a trip to 5 guys in my future.

    Reply
  • 3. Dad  |  July 15, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I remember this from your house blog! I’ve been temped to try this a number of times, but i eat the french fries before i get to a weekend morning!

    Reply
  • 4. annette  |  September 12, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    the bastard for one version of this is chop a big egg sized (fits in your hand well but your fingers don’t quite close over itl) redskinned potato into a quarter inch dice and toss it around in a pan with some olive oil for a while until it gets brownish.. add some pre-chopped garlic from a jar partway through.. chop some onion and mushrooms up too (you can leave out the mushrooms but i wouldn’t..).. and stir them in for a while.. nuke a couple brown and serve turkey sausage patties or links and chop ‘em up and toss ‘em in, chop up a tomato and toss that in too.. mix your eggs (2) up with a bit of milk, a smaller bit of flour and a healthy handful of cheese and pour that overtop the mess in the pan, stir it around a smidge and turn the heat down, slap a lid on and make some toast while you wait for it to set. there will be leftovers. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Save the manatees

I Love Manatees Banner

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

